Salted Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Crinkles

Happy early Thanksgiving!! I am so excited to have a day off and relax tomorrow.  However, I did struggle for weeks trying to figure out what to make for dessert.  I thought maybe something traditional but there was no way I was going to attempt a pie.  I went to the ever addicting Pinterest and searched through my “food” board, but still didn’t think I had anything special enough.  Until I came across these.  I don’t know who first decided that salted caramel + chocolate =amazing (that’s my kind of math, haha!), but these are truly decadent and that combination is perfect. Rich, dark chocolate cookies filled with a gooey center.  Funny story: when I was making these I actually forgot to put sea salt on top of the first cookie- oops! 😉
025

 

 

Salted Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp. cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

10 tbsp. salted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cups brown sugar

2 eggs

1/3 tsp. vanilla extract

2 dozen caramels (Rolo’s or Kraft)

coarse sea salt/fleur de sel

3/4 cups powder sugar, + 1/4 cup

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease cookie sheets.  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. In a large mixing bowl with a stand or hand mixer, beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time and beat well after each.  Add the vanilla extract, then the dry ingredients until just combined.

Scoop out 2 tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball (you make want to flour or put powdered sugar on your hands).  Press a caramel into the center and lightly sprinkle with sea salt. Shape back into a ball and coat in powder sugar.  Repeat this process with remaining dough.

Bake on prepared cookie sheets for 11-13 minutes.  Let cool on sheets then transfer to cooling rack.  Coat the cookies into additional powdered sugar* and store in airtight container.

*This is optional but it makes them look better!

Recipe from Cooking Classy

 

And here is a picture of my homemade vanilla extract! It’s been five days since I started and I can’t believe how dark it is already!

024

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

