Vegan Vanilla Moscato Cupcakes with Vegan Chocolate Moscato Frosting!!

cupcake

007

So, I made these cupcakes for my sister’s birthday celebration Saturday night. This was my first time ever making cupcakes from scratch. Oh, and she’s vegan! Originally I was going to substitute all the dairy and non-vegan ingredients for regular cupcakes, but that was getting way too complicated and weird and giving me slight anxiety. I searched forever for a good vegan cupcake without any obscure ingredients. I found this one from Whipped Baking that received great reviews on her site. I imagine they are perfect on their own! However, since it was a special occasion, I added Moscato to the batter! This is definitely a favorite wine for all the girls in my family as well as myself and it takes the cupcakes to a whole new level!

Ingredients:
For the Vanilla Cupcakes (yields 14 standard size)
1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsweetened plain almond milk
¼ cup Moscato wine (I used Flip Flop brand)
½ cup vegetable oil
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
1 tablespoon white or apple cider vinegar
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 (12-cup) cupcake pans with 14 cupcake liners or 2 (24-cup) mini cupcake pans. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
In a medium bowl, whisk together almond milk, oil, moscato, vanilla, and vinegar. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture and whisk until just combined. Be careful not to over mix!
Fill the cupcake liners about two-thirds full with batter. Bake standard sized cupcakes for 15 to 18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cupcake comes out clean with a few crumbs clinging to it. Cool the cupcakes completely before frosting.

For the Frosting (enough for 24 cupcakes)
6 Cups Powdered sugar
1/3 cup non-dairy “butter” or spread (softened, I used Earth Balance Spread)
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup Moscato Wine (Flip Flop brand)
Strawberries or raspberries (optional)

In large bowl, beat powdered sugar, butter, cocoa, and salt with an electric hand held mixer on low speed until blended, then beat in 1/2 cup of wine. If frosting is too thick, beat in more wine a little at a time until frosting reaches desired consistency. I ended up having to add about 1/3 cups more EarthBalance to mine, but it could just be because I have an old hand-mixer… Garnish with berries.
Store leftover frosting in airtight container in the fridge.

Vanilla cupcakes adapted from Whipped Baking

Chocolate Moscato Frosting adapted from A Mom’s Rantings http://amomsrantings.com/dark-chocolate-moscato-cupcakes/”

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Vegan Vanilla Moscato Cupcakes with Vegan Chocolate Moscato Frosting!!

  1. Kristina June 21, 2013 at 2:41 pm Reply

    How pretty!! Love your version of my vanilla cupcakes, so fun to throw in the wine!

  2. chelsie912 June 22, 2013 at 12:43 am Reply

    I am so excited you commented on my blog! Thank you so much for the inspiration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

